The LPEA elects a new Board of Directors at its first e-AGM, a milestone as it celebrates its 10th Anniversary

Share on Linkedin
Share on Twitter
Share on Facebook
Share on Whatsapp

New 30-strong Board after the first-ever election with limited seats

Following its Annual General Meeting held today, the Luxembourg Private Equity & Venture Capital Association (LPEA) is pleased to announce the election of 30 new members to its Board of Directors (the “Board”) in a landmark year celebrating its 10th Anniversary.

The elected members were chosen among a record number of applicants (69). Since the last election in May 2018, the LPEA added 107 members to its ranks (272 members as of today) and represents now a broader range of practitioners, among which Single Family Offices, which now make their entry into the Board of the association. In particular Norbert Becker and Count Serge de Ganay were elected.

The association has slightly reduced the total size of its Board to 30 members (from 36 members recently). Participation opportunities have however been increased via the introduction of a new annual partial-rotation system. These measures follow a strategic review by the LPEA, conducted in consultation with its membership, and subsequently implemented in its revised Articles of Association, with the objective (inter alia) of enhancing efficiency, transparency as well as contribution opportunities in the Board. The standard membership tenures of the Board were increased from 2 to 3 years and the above mentioned rotation means that 10 new board seats will be appointed every year. The new Board will next select its Chairman and Executive Committee members in a procedure over the coming weeks.

Rajaa Mekouar, the CEO of the LPEA, said: ”I am very impressed with the commitment expressed by so many of our members willing to take an active role at the association. The Board has always been an important advisory body and its diversity critical to the growth of the association .In particular, I see the accession to the Board of members of our Single Family Office Club as a great symbol of Luxembourg gaining further ground as a key investor hub for PE / VC. I am also glad that so many of our members participated in the digital voting process and in the live e-AGM which we organised with the entire team who has been crucial to its successful completion. It is a tribute to a tremendous year for the Association despite the challenging macro conditions due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Becoming stronger will allow us to even better navigate through the current turbulence.”

Claus Mansfeldt, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the association, commented: “I am proud to see the year-long governance review conducted by the association bearing fruit in terms of active participation in the nominations, voting and implementation of the new Board procedure according to our stated objectives. We look forward to engaging with the new Board for the continued successful growth of our dynamic private capital industry association here in Luxembourg”.

The Luxembourg Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (LPEA) is the representative body of private equity and venture capital professionals in Luxembourg. With 272 members, LPEA plays a leading role in the discussion and development of the investment framework and actively promotes the industry beyond the country’s borders.


3i Investments Luxembourg S.A. – Antoine Clauzel
Allen & Overy SCS – Patrick Mischo
Astorg Asset Management – Hind El Gaidi
Arendt & Medernach SA – Adrian Aldinger
Atoz Tax Advisers – Petya Dimitrova
Banque de Luxembourg – Lucienne Andring
BC Partners – Giuliano Bidoli
Bi-Invest Endowment Management S.àr.l. – Eckart Vogler
Cinven Luxembourg S.àr.l. – Gautier Laurent
Clifford Chance – Katia Gauzès
CVC Advisers (Luxembourg) – Emanuela Brero
Deloitte – Nick Tabone
Edmond de Rothschild Asset Management (Luxembourg) – Serge Weyland
Elvinger Hoss Prussen S.A. – Katia Panichi
EY Luxembourg –  Laurent Capolaghi
EQT – Peter Veldman
European Investment Fund – Marcel Müller-Marbach
Expon Capital – Jérôme Wittamer
International Advisory Services Company S.A. – Serge de Ganay
KPMG Luxembourg Société coopérative – Mickael Tabart
Linklaters – Nicolas Gauzès
LIS (Luxembourg Investment Solutions S.A.) – Pierre Weimerskirch
Mangrove Capital Partners – Hans-Jürgen Schmitz
Norbert Becker/Becker Family Office – Norbert Becker
Permira Luxembourg S.àr.l. – Cédric Pedoni
PwC – Vincent Lebrun
Quintet Private Bank – Gorka Gonzalez
Sofina Luxembourg – Stéphanie Delperdange
SwanCap Investment Management S.A. – Claus Mansfeldt
The Carlyle Group (Luxembourg) S.àr.l. – Sara Huda